Can participants see chat in breakout rooms?
If the chat is enabled, the chat messages in each breakout room are only available to those participants in the breakout room. (Example: Attendees in Room 1 cannot see breakout room chat messages among attendees in Room 2, and vice versa.) Your chat history follows you.
Breakout rooms are sessions that are split off from the main Zoom meeting. They allow the participants to meet in smaller groups, and are completely isolated in terms of audio and video from the main session. Breakout rooms can be used for collaboration and discussion of the meeting.
Participants in the Zoom meeting will see a prompt to join a breakout room if they are not already assigned to a room. Once in a room, they can click Breakout Rooms on the toolbar to choose a different room or ask the host for help.
Screen sharing – You can share your screen in a Breakout Room just as you would in a regular meeting. However, the host must enable participants to share their screens in Breakout Rooms.
As the host, you will not be sorted into one of the breakout rooms, and cannot hear what is being discussed in the Breakout Rooms. However, you can visit individual Breakout Rooms to check in on the discussions happening in a particular room.
Breakout room participants have full audio, video and screen sharing capabilities. The host of the meeting will not be assigned to a breakout room and cannot see or hear what is happening in the breakout rooms during the meeting.
With breakout rooms, people gather in small groups for lively conversation and brainstorming sessions. Only meeting organizers on the desktop versions of Teams (Windows and Mac) can create and manage breakout rooms. Organizers or presenters must first join the meeting to create or manage breakout rooms.
They will need to select Join room before being moved. By default, this setting will be off. To turn it on, switch the toggle next to Participants can return to the main meeting on. This will allow students to leave their breakout rooms and return to the main meeting.
Only the people in that specific breakout room will see your chat message. It will not be seen in other breakout rooms. Only the Host or co-host has the ability to broadcast messages to all breakout rooms.
From the list of open breakout rooms hosts and co-hosts can see if participants are: screensharing, have current reactions posted as well as the status of participant's video and microphone feeds.
How do I turn off chat in zoom breakout room?
Sign in to the Zoom web portal. In the navigation menu, click Settings. Click the Meeting tab. Under In Meeting (Basic), click the Meeting chat toggle to enable or disable it.
Once you've created breakout rooms, you can make changes to the rooms or join each breakout room to monitor and participate in discussions. Tip: Meeting hosts won't see chat messages that were exchanged between participants before they join or after they leave a breakout room. .